Twitter has released a new feature that will give users more control over who can interact with them, basically permitting users to “soft block” their own followers.
This new feature is now available to everyone using Twitter on the web no word yet on when it will be accessible for the app. To eradicate a follower, head to your profile and click Followers. From there, users have to click the three dots next to their name and select the “Remove this follower” option.
This act will easily remove the user from your followers without even being notified of the removal. No doubt according to Twitter that users can still follow you again in future but once you removed them, the account will no longer be able to see your tweets on the timeline in future but yes, they can send you messages.
Why do you need a way to remove followers on Twitter?
The feature to remove followers is a part of a larger effort by Twitter to not only avoid trolls but to permit uses to better stand their own experience on the social media platform.
Last month, a new safety mode features also rolling out for the users which is one kind of special algorithm that can easily identify accounts that are abusing or repetitive mentions to other unknown users and automatically blocks those accounts for long seven days.
While users might need to completely block other accounts irritating them online, the ability to remove followers or you can say “Soft Block” them, is perhaps an amazing way to build a comfy space for yourself online. It restricts who can see your tweets in the tweeter feed, and assists evade the conflict that can result from a hard block.
According to the recent report of The Wall Street Journal, Facebook is well conscious about Instagram’s bad impact on teen mental health, there should be energetic attention on how social media platforms can better aid, not harm, their viewers.
The ability to eliminate followers is small and long overdue, but a definite step in the right direction.